Choose My Music: Pokey LaFarge - NEW ALBUM - NEW TOUR

RSS
Weiterleiten

23. Mai. 2011, 11:21

AS FEATURED ON www.choosemymusic.org

I often love to browse the Daytrotter website for bands, usually stopping at the artists with interesting names. This one stood out mainly on the basis that I have a cat called Pokey. Funny how these things turn out.

What I discovered was a man younger than my sprightly 31 years with a voice and musical style that you can usually only just make out behind the crackle of an old 1920′s 7″.

His mix of early jazz, ragtime, country blues and swing shows him as a real American roots purist.

The real beauty and skill of Pokey LaFarge is his abilities as a storyteller. The Riverboat Soul album contains tales of bootleggers, thieves and adulterers. I have not even heard the recently released Middle of Everywhere album, but you can bet the art of fabulisim is alive and well.

Since buying my copy of Riverboat Soul towards the end of March this year, I have found it to be a very infectious album. Often, out of nowhere, a lyric or song pops in my head, creating an earworm that can last for hours. This is precisely why the album has joined the small, select few, that are granted ‘ever present’ status in my car. And with an album collection totalling over 1000, that should give you a strong enough indication of just how much I love it….And it is not just me.

Riverboat Soul won ‘Best Americana Album’ at this years Independent Music Awards, while his live shows have got the mainstream press in all of a quiver. It is lucky then that Pokey LaFarge & The South City Three are visiting a town near you soon. The tour schedule is as follows:

Tues June 14: Devizes, Wiltshire
Wed June 15: The Green Note, Camden,London
Thurs June 16: Theatre Mwldan, Cardigan, Wales
Fri June 17: Borough Theatre, Abergavenny, Wales
Sat June 18: Parsons Green Sports & Social Club, London
Sun June 19: The Prince Albert, Brighton
Mon June 20: No 5, The Beach, Cleveden
Tues June 21: Greystones, Greystones Road, Sheffield
Wed June 22: The Musician, Leicester
Thurs June 23: The Blue Coconut Club, Pulborough
Fri June 24: Birnam Arts Centre, Perthshire
Sat June 25: The Classic Grand, Glasgow
Sun June 26: The Blue Lamp, Aberdeen
Mon June 27: The Tolbooth, Stirling
Tues June 28: Eden Court Theatre, Inverness
Wed 29: Aros Centre, Portree, Isle of Skye
Thurs June 30: An Lanntair, Stornoway, Isle of Lewis

Fri July 1: The Byre Theatre, St Andrews
Sat July 2: Eastgate Theatre, Peebles
Sun July 3: Ubangi Stomp, Odessa Club, Dublin
Mon July 4: Spectrum Centre, Shankill Road, BelfastWed
Wed July 6: Cleere’s, KilkennyThurs
Thurs July 7: Wexford Arts CentreFri
Fri July 8: Seamus Ennis Centre, Naul, Co DublinSat
Sat July 9: Earagail Arts Festival Hunger Hoedown – Town Park -Letterkenny, Co Donegal
Sun July10: McGrory’s, Culdaff, Co Donegal

Wed Aug 31: Chichester Inn, Chichester

Thurs Sept 1: The Welfare, Ystradgynlais, Swansea
Fri Sept 2: Bethnal Green Working Men’s Club,London
Sat Sept 3: The Company Store, Liverpool
Sun Sept 4: The Source, Carlisle
Tues Sept 6: The Old Library, Kilbarchan
Wed Sept 7: The Bongo Club, Edinburgh
Thurs Sept 8: The Catstrand Arts Centre, New Galloway
Fri Sept 9: Jumpin Hot Club, The Cluny, Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Sat Sept 10: Selby Town Hall
Sun Sept 11: Pocklington Arts Centre, East Riding, Yorkshire

I myself will most certainly be at the Leicester show on Wednesday 22nd June and quite possibly at Parson’s Green gig in London on Saturday 18th June if I can arrange travel.Pokey LaFargePokey LaFarge & the South City ThreeRiverboat SoulMiddle of EverywhereHard Times Come

Kommentare

Sage etwas. Melde dich bei Last.fm an oder registriere ein neues Benutzerkonto (es kostet nichts).