Let the recommendations fly!

• [Gelöschter Benutzer] schrieb...
    • Benutzer
    • 22. Nov. 2004, 23:34

Let the recommendations fly!

No music forum without a recommendation thread!
    As I am quite new to this genre, I'll wait with my own. Let's me see yours instead.

• Germany, i forgive you for WW2 because of:

Ulrich Schnauss!!!!

I see you alredy got m83 and boards of canada, so that will make the top three list complete. There are many others, but beware....theres lot of crap in this genre, like any other genre. I posted something earlier with other recommendations...see if you can find it.

• Benutzer
    • 23. Nov. 2004, 20:41

surf safe!

Allright, I'm checking it out. Seems real nice =)
    I guess indietronica isn't such a big genre, so most people who know it have heard most of the best stuff?

• harrisj schrieb...
    • Benutzer
    • 23. Nov. 2004, 20:59

Indietronica

Well, it's a small genre at its core but positively fuzzy around the edges so it can be a lot or a few bands depending on how you look at it (does Yo La Tengo count?). in any event, I like to think of myself as a somewhat musically "hip" dude and yet I was amazed at how many bands I had not heard of when asking for groups to link to in another thread. So, I still owe Manitoba and Styrofoam and such a listening, but let me give me some album picks I have heard:

Ulrich Schnauss, "Far Away Trains Passing By" all his stuff is good, but on sad days I could listen to "Between Us & Them" on repeat...

American Analog Set, "Know By Heart" - beautiful wistful stuff. The soundtrack to wistful autumn days

Múm, "Finally We Are No One" - from Iceland, this group melds instrumental ensembles and electronic tweaks to make some haunting stuff. Bonus trivia: the twins who lead the group are on the cover of Belle & Sebastian's "Fold You Hands Child..." album

Lali Puna, "Faking the Books" and The Notwist, "Neon Golden" - two more reasons for Safe Surfer zu lieben Germany