• 2008: the live experience

    7. Jan. 2009, 21:33 von Temujin

    10 gigs/festivals, in chronological order:

    1) Ladytron, Vooruit Gent, 1/5/2008
    3rd Ladytron gig for me. Was a bit weird, I was really bored the first couple of songs, but then they played Soft Power and I just freaked out. Such an awesome song. Rest of the gig was suddenly a lot better.
    (my pictures)

    2) Justice, AB Brussels, 10/5/2008
    Gig of the year? All I know is, I was headbanging/feet-stomping/agressive-dancing like a madman. Exercising my demons I guess. It was so much fun. I also enjoyed everyone else freaking out, this was one of the best crowds I've ever seen.
    (my pictures)

    3) Rock Wercher
    Only went on saturday. The Sigur Ros – Radiohead combo was just too awesome. So much, in fact, that the greatness of Sigur Ros overshadowed the Radiohead gig a bit. This is why I want to see the 'head in a venue for a change, this hasn't happened in Belgium since 2003. I blame Clearchannel/Herman Schueremans.
    (my pictures)

    4) Cactus festival Brugge
  • Remembering 2008 in 10 gigs, 20 albums and 30 tracks

    6. Jan. 2009, 0:26 von brambilla77

    With a whole year of exciting new music ahead of us, here is a quick look at the stuff that got stuck in my musical mind in 2008. Just like last year I stick to my concept of gigs, albums and tracks (= tracks not appearing on my top albums) in one list.

    A happy Two-Oh-Nine to all of you!

    ___________________________________

    The Gigs

    1. Portishead @ Vorst Nationaal
    It was a match they had already won before they even started the gig. Highly anticipated, a sold out vorst full of fans and absolutely spine chilling moments from all their albums. Very obscure and very gripping at same time: I actually cried as Beth was singing Roads. Unique concert to cherish for a long time!

    2. Yeasayer @ Zebrastraat
    One of my favourite bands of the last three years played a small gig in Ghent, the day after they played at pukkelpop. The tent in the zebrastraat was boiling with their cleverly concocted songs thus proving their awesome live reputation. The tired yet superfriendly band did a divine job for the small crowd that was there. …
  • Surkin - "Next of Kin"

    23. Okt. 2008, 8:32 von Cassius_K

    Out on September 2008 please check out Surkin brand new Next of Kin EP.

    Born Benoit Heitz, Surkin proved to be a kind of "enfant prodige". He's only 22 and is one of the most promising dj and producer of the french electro scene.

    http://bp1.blogger.com/_8Ygkos1cxoU/SAX43TtJfmI/AAAAAAAAACQ/pVB_hRyzonM/s400/surkin.jpg

    I saw him at Pukkelpop this summer mixing his set with Ableton Live and an Evolution UC-33 USB Midi Controller...just amazing! He knows how to turn the crowd jumpin' crazy!

    - As we can read on the back cover of the EP Next of Kin
    http://it.youtube.com/watch?v=shJPRCL4ROo

    contains a sample of No Pain, No Gain by The Whispers.
    http://it.youtube.com/watch?v=s-6AOAsC-zs

    - The Next of Kin EP contains also White Knight Two.
    http://it.youtube.com/watch?v=G92yMAyxtpo

    Searching on Erol Akan forum some people says that the vocal parts of White Knight Two are sampled from I'm Rushin (Dave Spoon Vocal Mix) by Bump:
  • Soulwax - "Part of the weekend never dies"

    10. Sep. 2008, 16:30 von Cassius_K

    I've just got my copy of this amazing Soulwax live documentary of their last past years spended playing, remixing and djing all over the world directed by Saam Farahmand and Soulwax themselves.

    They're just amazing...they've got that sound.
    http://it.youtube.com/watch?v=B0V_6hfLxcY
    It was about 10 years ago, I was 13, watching Videomusic (an old italian TV music channel) and listening to Conversation Intercom by Soulwax I felt that was something special in it. Today they're the most famous djs, remixer and producer of the planet earth so...I was right!

    There's an official trailer of Part of the weekend never dies but I want to share another video taken from the Tube:
    http://it.youtube.com/watch?v=1Tk4f3I8cnA
    In this video we can see Soulwax palying live Move My Body (Only 4 Erol Mix) by Tiga...but thanks to their dj's skill they dont just play that song... they mix it live with another track: at 0:28 we can hear a small sample of Rock Da House by Dirt Crew. ( you can listen to this song preview here).
  • Pukkelpop 2008 Review

    7. Sep. 2008, 14:34 von costavalentin

    Thu 14 Aug – Pukkelpop 2008

    Dag 1: 15groepen gezien! Jawel, 15:

    Triggerfinger 8,5/10
    The Subways 3/10
    De Jeugd van Tegenwoordig 5/10
    Joe Lean and the Jing Jang Jong 8,5/10
    Amy Macdonald 8/10
    Motek 8,5/10
    Soko : 2/10
    Danko Jones 5/10
    Serj Tankian 7,5/10
    Joan as Police Woman 6,5/10
    Editors 6,5/10
    Dropkick Murphys 8/10
    Mercury Rev 7,5/10
    Pendulum 8/10
    Roísín Murphy 7,5/10
    The Killers 8/10

    Triggerfinger was schitterend, één van de beste concerten van deze editie.

    Motek hebben we dan maar half gezien omdat ik niet kon kiezen tussen Amy Macdonald of Motek, maar wat ik gezien heb was prachtig! Mooie muziek ondersteunt door mooie beelden.

    The Killers vond ik persoonlijk niet zo slecht als ze overal worden afgeschilderd… Ik vond het een geslaagde show maar misschien zijn ze een beetje jong om een festival van zo’n kaliber af te sluiten?!

    Veel sfeer bij de Dropkick Murphys maar er zou er nog meer zijn geweest als hun muziek niet zo zacht stond in het begin… Ik…
  • Pukkelpop 2008

    3. Sep. 2008, 12:42 von frankgerritse

    Thu 14 Aug – Pukkelpop 2008
    Hoewel dit keer niet gratis (in tegenstelling tot de tickets voor Dour), was dit festival - gehouden 14, 15 en 16 augustus - elke cent waard. Bovendien was het - geheel tegen de voorspellingen van de weerprofeten in - werkelijk prachtig weer (vgl. Lowlands).

    We hebben uiteraard ontzettend veel goede en minder goede bandjes gezien. Om dit verlate (sorry!) verslag toch niet te lang te maken, Pukkelpop 2008 in vogelvlucht.

    Soko oogt en klinkt wel heel erg onprofessioneel, of is het geen act? The Infadels vallen hard tegen. Al snel komt er een cover, die ze niet eens als zodanig presenteren, namelijk ‘Steady as she goes’ van de (Amerikaanse!) Raconteurs. Dit zegt vast genoeg over het eigen mat klinkende werk. Dat een cover niet altijd een slecht idee hoeft te zijn bewijst - het ons tot dan toe onbekende - Hadouken! Een stuiterende cover van ‘Breathe’ van hun ‘best band of the world’ the Prodigy. Heerlijk! Hoe anders dan het deprimerende monotone geluid van de Editors [...]
  • Pukkelpop 2008

    22. Aug. 2008, 16:13 von dinges88

    Thu 14 Aug – Pukkelpop

    Hoewel ik na Pinkpop en groezrock eigenlijk niet meer van plan was om nog een festival te bezoeken.

    Woensdag 13 Augustus:
    Woensdag op tijd uit bed, laatste spullen inpakken en richting station boxtel om de trein naar Eindhoven te nemen vanwaar we een vantevoren uitgestippelde busroute zouden volgen die, volgens judith, zo binnendoor was dat niemand zo gek zou zijn om dezelfde route te nemen. Die zeepbel werd dus doorgeprikt toen we in een of ander klein dorpje over moesten stappen in de buurtbus.
    Buurtbus, je weet wel, zo'n busje voor 8 mensen, waar uiteindelijk 13 volledig bepakte festivalgangers ingepropt werden. Hilarische situatie met mensen en tassen en tassen en mensen. In Lommel overgestapt naar Hasselt en toen waren we er dan toch echt. Het was gezellig druk, het zonnetje scheen, leek een perfecte middag te worden. Dat werd snel minder toen we doorkregen hoe lang we met alle bagage in de rij moesten staan. …
  • Zalig Pukkelpop

    21. Aug. 2008, 18:50 von Josie0

    Thu 14 Aug – Pukkelpop

    Pukkelpop was zalig, de beste drie dagen van deze zomer, de leukste festivaldagen van de laatste paar jaar. Ben nog volop aan het afkicken, na de zalige muziek, de gezelligheid, het best wel lekkere eten en vooral de tonnen zon. .

    Dag 1

    Donderdag wou ik beginnen met Motek, een groep die ik niet ken maar waar ik al goeie dingen van had gehoord. Helaas zat de kleine Wablieftent vol en mochten we niet meer binnen. Vanop het grasveld voor de tent hoorden we nog een en ander, zij het vrij vervormd, en zagen we enkele grappige straattheatermannen in max max-outfits op van skelettenvoorziene onguur uitziende voertuigen passeren, of twee kafkaaiaans uitziende ventjes die op de festivalgangers inspeelden, heel grappig.

    Daarna trokken we naar de Main Stage voor Danko Jones, maar diens machobrulenstamprock is niet aan mij besteed. Ik heb geen zwarte schreeuwlelijk nodig om te zeggen hoe rock 'n roll ik al dan niet ben, thank you very much.

  • Personal Pukkelpop Report 2008

    20. Aug. 2008, 11:01 von faerinn

    Thu 14 Aug – Pukkelpop

    DAY 01 // TH 14

    Viewed:
    - De Jeugd Van Tegenwoordig
    - Amy MacDonald
    - One Night Only
    - Serj Tankian
    - Editors
    - Headphone
    - Pendulum
    - Róisín Murphy
    - Soulfly
    - The Killers

    Best Gigs:
    - De Jeugd Van Tegenwoordig: Allereerste Pukkelpop optreden, maar voor mij meteen ook in mijn Top 3 van beste optredens op Pukkelpop 2008 : Buma In Mn Zak, was da een feestje! Heel veel Liefde (gebaar met hand) voor P. Fabergé, Willy Wartaal en Vieze Fur... Ik was al fan, ma nu nog meer :)
    - Serj Tankian: Beetje Rare gast... ma zijn muziek is wel goe! En politiek correct.
    - Editors: Waren vorig jaar fantastisch, hebben dat dit jaar geëvenaard :d Ben nog steeds fan :d

    Algemeen:
    Goede start :), Veeeel gezien, Moe gaan slapen... veel lawaai op de camping en vroeg wakker door te warm in de tent...Ma dus qua optredens: 8/10

    DAY O2 // FR 15

    Viewed:
    - Das Pop
    - Michael Franti and Spearhead
    - A Brand
    - Arsenal
    - Tim Vanhamel
    - Metallica

  • Pukkelpop 2008 Review

    19. Aug. 2008, 20:56 von overcl0ck

    Jue 14 Ago – Pukkelpop

    As a start, I must say that this was the first time me and my friends went to Pukkelpop. We've been in Belgium for other festivals (Groezrock '07 / '08) but as soon as we arrived, we noticed this was way bigger. After waiting for 40 minutes under the rain to get inside the camping, we set our tent in the main street (The Party Block). It was a nice surprise to see that the camping had such facilities as a supermarket, drink & food booths.
    There was a welcome party at the Boiler Room, and sure I went there. The light FX were awesome as well as the music, kinda party style electro, those DJs knew how to make people dance like crazy. Soon I realised why it was called the Boiler Room though: A huge load of people, packed like sardins in the tin and dancing like crazy... well it sure makes the temperature rise up!

    I had a lot of fun but went to sleep at 2AM so I could be top fit for the festival first day.

    THURSDAY

    Die! Die! Die!